My world won’t revolve around you: a letter to my future son.

When we first meet, I will be overwhelmed with an enormous love. For everything you are, will be, and already have been. I will want nothing more but to absorb every second you breathe, watch you sleep, and coo over every milestone.

But my little one, my world will not revolve around you. But never should you think that it isn’t all for you.

Sure, mom is her own person, too. I have dreams and aspirations and things I want to achieve. I know that by fostering these things that make me me, I will be able to invest the best of me in you. I hope I will be able to show you by example what makes a full and happy life.

But it’s more than that.

I want you to know that sometimes, I will not be guiding you or your mind. I want you to have confidence in the decisions you make. I want you to be your own person and your own thinker. I want you to realize that mistakes are okay to make, and change is not only possible but in your power.

I want you to know that sometimes, I will not be physically next to you, but I am still there. But little one, I want you to feel okay even if you are by yourself. You alone already have everything you need to fulfill your desires, entertain your mind, and live a beautiful life. You alone are enough. But even when you doubt that, I will always try to remind you.

I want you to know that sometimes, I will not always help you. I want you to understand that you get out of life what you put into it. I want to see hunger in your eyes for your passions and the incomparable, empowering reward that is achieving something as a result of hard work.

I want you to know that sometimes, I will not come along with you when you go out into the world. I want you to know that this is because I trust you, but moreso, I want you to trust the world. I want you to find your own wings and your own solid ground. Sometimes the world will hurt you as a result, but I want you to feel confident that you will bounce back, whether I am there or not. And I want you to continue to have faith in the goodness of every person, place, or thing even in the face of such hurt.

I know sometimes all of this will not be clear. You may sometimes accuse me of being selfish, or horrible, or cruel. You aren’t born with a user manual. I will ache with my own fear of being a terrible mother.

Despite this, my world will not revolve around you. But do not doubt for a second that you are my world. It is all for who you are, will be, and already have been.

Love, mom

One thought on “My world won’t revolve around you: a letter to my future son.

  1. Good luck with being a mom. My son is 28 now… He went into the Marine Corps when he was 18 and it was the hardest, absolutely, the hardest thing I will ever go through. He’s back now and has finally started to transition to civilian life but as a mom, it’s been hard to be there but not be smothering, because I’m worried about him. Love takes so many different forms… We are all just doing the best we can 🙂 God bless

    Like

Leave a Reply

